The Running Community

Originally posted on the Trailblazer Hub.

When I first started running a couple of summers ago, one of the things I liked best was that I immediately felt as if I were part of a community. I started talking about running on Facebook and Twitter and suddenly had another thing in common with some friends, and made some new friends. I joined running groups on Meetup, started following some serious runners on Twitter and started blogging about my adventures into barefoot running, which opened me up into a whole new community.

I love going to races, because I get to meet so many great people and hear their stories about why they’re at that charity race or what their goals are for this 5k. Last week I ran the MADD Dash 5 mile in New Haven, and while waiting for the race to begin met two guys near the start line. They started asking me about my Vibrams and what it’s like to run in them and I was telling them about the half marathon I did in October. Then the race started and we said our goodbyes and they pulled out in front of me. About 2 miles into the race I met up with one of them, Jim, and chatted for a few minutes about how the other guy, Ed, had ditched him to run up ahead. We joked about it and then went our separate ways. I saw Jim again towards the end of the race as runners had to do a U-Turn and pass by runners in the opposite direction, and we cheered each other on.

It was great to have a “friend” throughout the race who I could look for and cheer for. And after the race I saw the two of them again, and we chatted about upcoming races and it turns out we’ll all be running the Christopher Martin’s Christmas Run 5k in New Haven on December 12th. They gave me some tips about finishing as fast as possible to get to the bar before the rugby guys get there, otherwise I’d never get a celebratory drink. See what I mean about the running community? So helpful. :)

I’ve found that this happens all the time. I meet great people at races and love to see them at other races throughout the season, connect with them online and continue talking between races. It’s a great motivator to see my running buddies checking in on Daily Mile and posting their runs and workouts, which makes me want to do the same!

What are your favorite things about running?

Leave a Reply

