Hartford Half Marathon Recap

Yesterday I completed my first half marathon. It was exhilarating and exhausting, fun and made me think “Why in the hell did I ever sign up to do this?” I was surprised to find that I wasn’t nervous at the start of the race, but now that I think about it it was because I had no idea what to expect. The first 4 miles were great, I felt fantastic and I was having a lot of fun. By mile 8 my legs hurt and my Vibrams were pinching my toes. I stopped a few times to adjust but with no luck, and the pinching was annoying enough that I decided to run the last 5 miles completely barefoot. I took the Vibrams off and held them while I walked/ran the last 5 miles. At about mile 11 I ran into my friend Julia, and it was nice to jog with her for a few minutes and chat.

Throughout the race I took stock of how I felt so I would would know if I’d ever want to do a half marathon again. Sometimes I felt good and optimistic, other times I felt terrible and wanting to quit. So that didn’t really help me figure out whether I’d ever want to race it again. Now that it’s the day after, my legs hurt and I think whoever created stairs obviously didn’t run half marathons… I will do a half marathon again. Later. Not in the near future.

I’m really glad that I was able to run with Chris McDougall on Friday and get some tips from him. The advice he gave me definitely helped, and while I wasn’t able to maintain that technique throughout the half because I hadn’t gotten the chance to master it, I was able to use it for part of it. And because of that run I felt comfortable to take my Vibrams off at mile 8 and run the rest of the way barefoot. Running totally barefoot immediately made my feet and legs feel better. I still love my Vibrams, they’re great for trails – I don’t think I’m ready to run over rocky patches just yet.

I’m happy with the way I did. I had hoped to make it in under 2.5 hours, but my ultimate goal was just to finish before the 3 hour time limit. I’m happy to say I made it – 2:57:54 (Thanks for looking that up Amy!)

I also want to say congrats to my friend Julie who completed the 5k yesterday in 30 minutes flat! Only her 2nd 5k and she totally kicked its butt! Congrats Jules!! And congrats to Ryan, Amy, Julia and Brian who also finished the half marathon!

One response to this post.

  1. Great work CT!!! Barefoot awesomeness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

